The League

Since 2017, MBL – Melbourne Basketball League has brought amateur local players, professional athletes, overseas rising stars & passionate young ballers together in Melbourne – for the love of basketball. MBL is a pro-am open league. As one of the most watched & followed league in Melbourne, we are here to showcase the firepower of Melbourne ballers in the game of basketball.

DLeague is a league formed under MBL and Liga Australia. This is a league centred to Filipino-Australian youth and rising stars here in Australia. DLeague started last March 1, 2020, along with the launch of LIGA 2K20 Season. The league started with 8 teams and now have grown to 24 teams.

MBL was founded by Drew Romero & Torch Chavez. They are both Filipino-Australians who have experience in running domestic leagues in Philippines and Australia as well.

With the continuous support of the community and businesses, MBL has grown from 1 league to several leagues & brands. MBL now has Liga Australia, Liga DLeague, UniCup University Cup, Jr MBL, Melbourne Market & Victorian Basketball Network.

Key dates for DLeague

June 20, 2021
Season 2: MLV Super Cup (Season launch)
March 1, 2020
Season 1: DLeague 2K20 Season launch (Champion:Melbourne Astigs Finals MVP: Matthew Galaites, MVP: Charlon Trinidad, DPOY: Charlon Trinidad, )